Alphabet pictures

October 4, 2009

wallcorner1

My eldest son has finished all his big and little letters as we have only one more term until the end of the first grade school year.  We made some mini pictures of his letter work from his main lesson book to cut up into a wall frieze.  It makes a neat summary for us of his letter stories through the illustrations, and is an easy acess visual reminder of those words and sounds, not just hidden away in a lovely and cherished, but cumbersome MLB. 

pa020006

pa020007

I have taken close up photos of the letters/pictures if anyone is interested, but I didn’t want to overload the post with photos, and I’m sure you all have your own stories and letters that captured your imaginations.

11 Responses to “Alphabet pictures”

  1. sarah Says:

    how lovely!!!

  2. Gypsy Says:

    That is gorgeous – what a great way to disply and celebrate them.

  3. Alison Says:

    What a fab idea. Are they his pictures or yours? Are they a reprint of the pictures or did you/he redo them as small ones? Thanks for the idea.

  4. myartemismoon Says:

    Thankyou for your comments:-)
    Alison- we drew out together the pictures/parts of pictures from his main lesson books again in smaller form. They were quite quick to do since it was just the letter part really and not whole pages of drawing, and it was a nice project to sit together and draw and chat and remember this story and that verse on a rainy afternoon, so some are my drawings, and some are his, and one picture is even done by my youngest who wanted to join in! (but who soon drifted off to his own play again).

  5. Anne Says:

    Beautiful..:)

  6. kelly Says:

    These are really lovely! What a beautiful blog you have.

  7. myartemismoon Says:

    Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave a comment:-)
    Kelly – I love visiting the beauty at a your blog too
    Anne – you also have a beautiful blog to visit and it is great to visit an aussie blog too!
    Gypsy – I am loving your series of areas of play, and it is wonderful to have another southern hemisphere soul to read
    Sarah – I don’t know how you manage to always find the time to leave a comment here, and at so many other blogs I visit, and write your own amazing blog. Everytime I see your comments I appreciate how encouraging and selfless you are with your time. Thankyou

  8. crescentmoon Says:

    those are really beautifully done!

  9. Jennifer Tan Says:

    Awesome! Thank you for sharing how you do your letters together. The frieze idea is brilliant!

  10. colleen Says:

    These are awesome! I would love to see closeups of all of them. Do you have a flickr site? These really make me smile.

    • myartemismoon Says:

      Thanks for your query, unfortunately I am overseas on holiday, and dont have acess to my home computer to put up closeups at the moment, and no flicker either. Glad they made you smile though!
      I’ll look into it when I get back 🙂


Leave a Reply

