Peter and the Willow

September 11, 2009

A story to share from playgroup that I told,  inspired somewhat by the traditional tale of the giant turnip, the recent making of spring crowns or garlands, and some little hands that want to grab and play with something that another is already holding on to, and others holding on too tight to things they could share 😉 

p9110001

Peter and the Willow tree

Once upon a time there was a little boy called Peter.  One of Peter’s favourite places to go was the weeping willow tree across the field from his house.  He loved to go and play there so much he even made up a little song he would sing and hum when he was there.

I love to sit beneath the willow

The willow bending low

To sit and watch the little birds

Go flitting to and fro

It’s a lovely secret cubby with its branches bending low

I really love the willow and it’s where I like to go

 

And sometimes he thought he could hear the willow whisper “my dear friend Peter” as the long fronds brushed gently against his face in the soft spring breezes. 

One day Peter noticed lots of lovely spring flowers growing in the field on his way to the willow, and he thought he would pick a long frond of willow to weave himself a crown to thread the flowers through, so when he got to the Willow he grabbed one of the fronds and he heaved and he pulled, but it would not budge.  The willow cried out “Oh! Oh! Oh! Who is pulling my branches so!” and Peter called out “Its me, your friend Peter!” but the Willow was so upset she didn’t seem to notice.  Peter tried again, and just as he was doing so Stickly Prickly echidna came past and asked what Peter was doing.  “I’m trying to pull down a willow frond to make a spring crown and fill it with flowers”

“Oh I’ll help you” said Stickly Prickly and together they pulled and pulled

“Oh! Oh! Oh! who is pulling my branches so!” said the Willow again and Peter called out “Its us, your friends Peter, and Stickly Prickly!” but the willow was so upset she still didn’t seem to notice them. 

Peter got ready to try again when Hoppity Floppity rabbit came by.  “What are you doing Peter?”   She asked .

 “I’m trying to pull down a willow frond to make a spring crown and fill it with flowers” said Peter 

“Oh I’ll help you” said Hoppity Floppity and together they pulled and pulled and pulled.

“Oh! Oh! Oh! Who is pulling my branches so!” said the Willow again more loudly than before  and Peter called out “Its us, your friends Peter, and Stickly Prickly and Hoppity Floppity!” but the Willow was so upset she still didn’t seem to notice them. 

They were getting ready to pull a third time when Slibberslack snail came slithering past

 “What are you doing Peter?”   He asked .

 “I’m trying to pull down a willow frond to make a spring crown and fill it with flowers” said Peter 

“Oh I’ll help you” said Slibberslack and together they pulled and pulled and pulled and pulled.

“Oh! Oh! Oh! who is pulling my branches so!” said the Willow again more loudly than ever before and Peter called out “Its us, your friends Peter, and Stickly Prickly and Hoppity Floppity!” but the Willow was still so upset even now she didn’t seem to notice them. 

They were getting ready to pull a fourth time when Little Wren hopped up. 

“What are you doing Peter?”   He asked .

 “I’m trying to pull down a willow frond to make a spring crown and fill it with flowers” said Peter 

“Oh are you going about it the right way?” said little wren

“Is there a right way and a wrong way to pull a willow frond?” Asked Peter “I didn’t know!” 

“Well of course” said little wren, “all you need to do it the right way is to ask!”

“Ahhhhh!” said Peter and he carefully stepped up to the willow tree right under its weeping green fronds and called “ Mistress Willow?” 

“Yes, Peter is that you? I’ve been so distracted this morning trying to hold on hard to all my fronds as something is pulling and tugging them so”

“Oh” said Peter, a little embarrassed “that was me, I came to ask if I might please have a frond to make a spring crown with the meadow flowers.” 

“What a lovely idea, of course you may, why didn’t you say so!”

“I’m sorry” replied Peter

“Well, try again now” said the Willow, “and I will help you.”

So Peter and Stickly Prickly and Hoppity Floppity  and Slibberslack all got ready and pulled, and Willow let go of the frond and over tumbled Peter, Stickly Prickly, Hoppity Floppity and Slibberslack in a laughing heap with enough willow for all of them. 

Peter gathered up the fronds and raced off to the flowers when suddenly he turned and raced back to Mistress Willow. 

“Thankyou” Peter called all breathless and rosy cheeked

“My pleasure” replied the Willow and bowed low to Peter, who turned and once more raced off to begin his springtime crown.

5 Responses to “Peter and the Willow”

  1. Gypsy Says:

    Oh I love this – I am going to link to it!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Hallie Says:

    Oh I love it! I can’t wait to make some more creatures for tell the story to my girls! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. myartemismoon Says:

    Gypsy – thankyou, you inspired me to share a few more of my stories here after reading one on yours!
    Hallie – welcome, it is lovely to see you here, I enjoyed your poetry at waldorf ways, and am off to visit your blog too 🙂

  4. Carle Says:

    Oh how lovely, thanks for sharing


  5. Thank you for sharing the story! I love this. 🙂


Leave a Reply

