Bilbies and bunnies

April 12, 2009

This year for Easter I knitted the boys a Bilby each.  They look a little like rabbits (big ears, hop around) but they are Australian native marsupials often edged out of their habitat by the introduced rabbits.  Just for one day I guess they can get along and share the load of egg hiding.  We have some beautiful favourite books with Bilbies in, Bilby Moon by Margaret Spurling, and Hunwick’s egg by Mem Fox. 

p4120007

A little wooden bunny and rabbit soap were found hiding with the eggs, and the bunnies I have made from Easters past came out to play too.  It was a very hoppy day. 

p4120017

p4120020

Time to light our egg shell candles and settle down to our Easter feast. 

p4120009

Happy Easter

6 Responses to “Bilbies and bunnies”

  1. sarah Says:

    That’s so beautiful 🙂 The knitting is gorgeous and I love the candles in eggshells.

  2. Linda Says:

    Your knitted treasures are beautiful, Happy Easter from sunny South Africa….

  3. crescentmoon Says:

    I had never heard of Bilbies before, I just looked them up, because your knitted toy was so cute. My little boy was very interested in the bilby picture I found online.

  4. Lydia Says:

    What an inspired idea to use eggshells to contain candle wax! I will have to try this for sure. Its a joy to read your blog.

  5. Jennifer Tan Says:

    I’ve never seen bilbies…even when I was in Australia! I learned something new today. What a lovely group of gifts.

  6. myartemismoon Says:

    Thankyou all for your comments! I have been away and to suddenly have five in my inbox was so exciting and encouraging. I can’t wait to catch up on all your lovely blogs.


Leave a Reply

