Toy musings

November 24, 2008

I love open ended toys that can be anything, baskets of beautiful stones, shells or pinecones, coloured cloths, fingerknitted ropes, etc.  With enough left to the imagination, almost anything becomes an open ended toy.  I sometimes have mixed feelings about some of our toys that I see as too fixed, like wooden or knitted fruit, our toy ironing board and iron, etc,  but I have recently seen the ironing board become a digger, the wooden iron a ship, and the fruit become a coral bed on a blue silk ocean.  I guess as my little ones continually imagine and play with what adults would term “open ended” things, it rubs off on the “fixed” items too!

p1010004

p1010006

4 Responses to “Toy musings”

  1. sarah Says:

    I miss these days in my house. Whenever I’d get tired of the massive clean-up, Nels would remind me of what good play it represented!

  2. Lisa Says:

    I love the creativity! The digger made from the wooden ironing board shows real ingenuity.


Leave a Reply

