Spring celebrations

September 12, 2008

Springtime, springtime what shall we sing to you?

We’ll sing bird songs morning and evening through

We’ll sing of the seeds awakening

and of the buds a breaking

and through the sun the warmth will come

bringing welcome of spring to you.

(sung to the tune of “Daisy Daisy, give me your answer do..”)

A lovely day was had by all at our spring picnic with flower garlands from entwined jasmine, or new williow branches, with extra blooms woven in.  And plenty of bees, lizards and butterflies on hand to make an exciting brush with backyard nature for all the children.

7 Responses to “Spring celebrations”

  1. sarah Says:

    Lovely. We’re moving toward pumpkins, apples, garlands of dried flowers and leaves!


  2. Its so funny to think that you are starting Spring and Fall is just around the corner for me. In fact I just got down a box of “winter” clothes, I need a sweatshirt every once in a while.

    Beautiful tune – I don’t know the song you refer to? I will look it up.

  3. Julie Says:

    A beautiful day and lovely pictures. My daughters Spring festival is next week. A day we all look forward to.:)

  4. myartemismoon Says:

    Thankyou for all your coments,
    Sarah, I look forward to reading your posts about pumpkins, apples, soup and all things Autumn!

    Woolladyfelter you might know the tune as “…on a bicycle built for two. ”

    Julie, hope you have a great festival next week.

  5. Carle Says:

    Oh that is lovely, simply lovely.

    Did you write it?

    xx
    Carle

  6. myartemismoon Says:

    Thanks Carle, I “tweaked” it from a circle song my eldest learnt in Kindergarten(I couldn’t remember the exact words, so I made up a few to fit!).

  7. sarah Says:

    A quick note to say that I enjoyed seeing your list of books–I hadn’t heard of many of them!


Leave a Reply

