Oakies

May 12, 2008

I followed the instructions for these little gnomes from Carle http://environmentalhomeschooling.blogspot.com/2008/04/gnome-oakies.html.  Ironically she was inpired by Saartje knits who made cute little cork (from a wine bottle) Nisse (scandinavian little folk).  My eldest upon seeing the first little oakie said,  “Mum, you made a Nisse!”.  The Norwegian folk tales from his great grandfather are obviously sticking in his imagination. 

 

Australian acorns are most probably a slightly different shape to those found in South Africa.  (or mine are different to Carle’s anyway)  I had to make them out of thicker wool, and knit the pattern narrower and taller.  The little green one is the original pattern, with the smallest acorn we could find.  The others are the new custom fitted versions for chunky aussie acorns. 

I’m afraid my photos often appear fuzzy when I post them, and this is the first post I have tried to link to other sites, so thankyou for bearing with me whilst I learn. 

6 Responses to “Oakies”

  1. Gypsy Says:

    Oh they are the cutest little things! You are so clever to whip them up like that

  2. myartemismoon Says:

    Thankyou! They are really quite easy if you can knit a little, just follow Carles instructions in the link. If you asked me to crochet them however I would be in a dreadful messy knot.

  3. myartemismoon Says:

    I don’t know why the link is not working in the post, but I just tried it from the comments and it works from there. I apologise profusely.

  4. Carle Says:

    Oooh .. You are give me a rave review! LOL

    You made them so sweetly! Have you looked at lindas blog Natural suburbia, she crafts insanely fast and really inspires me. [tell me if you want the link! Today I bought a skien of stunning banana leaf yarn! I think I will post a picture of it, it is so beautiful soft and silky!

  5. Maastricht Says:

    Maastricht says : I absolutely agree with this !


Leave a Reply

